2003 Report of PPD activities

Manuella G. Vincter University of Alberta

New PPD website!

The PPD website was inaugurated and now resides at:
 http://www.physics.mcgill.ca/ ppd/
 (Many thanks to Francois Corriveau from McGill University for building and maintaining the site.)

Student awards

- A \$150 award to the organizers of the 2003 WRNPPC in support of the best student presentation prize at this conference.
- A \$300 award for best student presentation at a PPD session of the CAP congress was instituted in 2002 and will be awarded for the first time during this congress.

2002 BUDGET	Income	Expenses	Balance
Balance as of Jan 1,2002			5268.93
Membership fees (2002)			
Full (117Cnd/13Fgn)@\$5	650.00		
Student 15@\$0	0.00		5918.93
Hyperons,charm,beauty		300.00	
NSERC Liason Cttee share		175.00	
Plenary speaker CAP2002		1510.83	3933.10
Balance as of Dec 31,2002			3933.10

2003 BUDGET (a guess!)	Income	Expenses	Balance
Balance as of Jan 1,2003			3933.10
Membership fees (2003)	650.00		4583.10
WRNPPC		150.00	
Student award CAP		300.00	
NSERC Liason Cttee share		175.00	
Plenary speaker CAP2003		1000.00	2958.10
Expected balance Dec/03			2958.10

- There are 161 PPD members (as of May 28, 2003)
- Regular yearly fees (without a plenary speaker): WRNPPC+student award+NSERC \$625 Yearly income: membership \$650
- \rightarrow Shall we increase membership fee? Other divisions: \$5,\$8,\$10,\$15 \$3 increase \rightarrow can afford a plenary speaker (@\$1500) every 3rd year

Your Team

From our beautiful website...

Particle Physics Division PPD

of the Canadian Association of Physicists

Your Team

Year	Chair	Vice-Chair	Past Chair	Secretary- Treasurer
2 00 2-2 00 3	Manuella Vincter Alberta	William Trischuk Toronto	Tom Mattison UBC	David Bailey Toronto
2001-2002	Tom Mattison UBC	Manuella Vincter Alberta	François Corriveau McGill	David Bailey Toronto
2000-2001	François Corriveau McGill	Tom Mattison UBC	Scott Menary York	David Bailey Toronto
1999-2000	Scott Menary York	François Corriveau McGill	Mike Roney Victoria	David Bailey Toronto
1998-1999	Mike Roney Victoria	Scott Menary York	Ken Ragan McGill	David Bailey Toronto
1997-1998	<mark>Ken Ragan</mark> McGill	Mike Roney Victoria		David Bailey Toronto
1996-1997		Ken Ragan McGill	Janis McKenna UBC	David Bailey Toronto
1995-1996	Janis McKenna UBC		Pekka Sinervo Toronto	David Bailey Toronto
1994-1995	Pekka Sinervo Toronto	Janis McKenna UBC		David Bailey Toronto

The property is to lead the land

Who will be the next vice-chair?????